DWI/DUI Defense Attorney in Longport
As a popular summer vacation destination, Longport experiences a high volume of motorists. Many travelers are on their way to neighboring cities with exciting entertainment and nightlife. Longport Police frequently conduct DWI/DUI checkpoints along these routes, especially in the areas of Atlantic Avenue and Ventnor Avenue.
If you’re operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances in New Jersey, you can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). Each year, Longport law enforcement makes numerous DWI arrests. Without a proper legal defense, motorists facing DWI charges can experience severe consequences.
DWI cases can be defeated with the help of an experienced Longport attorney. Criminal defense lawyer John W. Tumelty has successfully defended multiple clients charged with DWI offenses in Longport Municipal Court. A former state and Atlantic County prosecutor, he uses his 35 years of experience in handling DWI cases to protect your rights.
What to Know About Being Charged With a DWI in Longport
If Longport law enforcement believes you’re driving while intoxicated, they can pull you over and have you submit to a variety of tests, including a Breathalyzer test. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, you’ll be charged with a DWI.
According to New Jersey Law (NJSA 39:4-50.2), you’re required to take a Breathalyzer test. Refusal won’t exempt you from DWI charges because anything an officer observes about your behavior can be submitted to the court as admissible evidence. Test refusal can also result in additional charges and penalties.
Besides your BAC, you can also be charged with a DWI if you’re driving under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug. If you own or have control or custody of a vehicle and allow someone else under the influence to drive it, you can still incur DWI charges.
Legal Consequences of a DWI Charge in Longport
The penalties for a DWI charge can be devastating for Longport residents and visitors. You can face incarceration, costly fines and the suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. As part of your probation or community service, you may also be required to participate in a supervised visitation program.
The specific penalties you receive will be determined by your BAC and whether this is a first or repeat offense. For instance, a first offense can result in a driver’s license suspension of up to three months, whereas a third or subsequent offense can lead to a 10-year suspension.
Build a Strong DWI Defense With a Longport Criminal Lawyer
Thanks to Mr. Tumelty’s experience as a prosecutor and DWI defense attorney, he knows how to create strong strategies to defeat your DUI or DWI charges. With a proven track record of fighting and winning DWI cases, he’ll work closely with you to achieve the best possible outcome.
If you or a family member has been charged with a DWI offense in Longport, don’t wait to receive legal guidance. Call Mr. Tumelty 24/7 at 609-385-4010 or send him a message.