Middle Township DWI/DUI Defense Lawyer
Located in Cape May County, New Jersey, Middle Township boasts a variety of attractions for residents and visitors. With a large portion of it situated along the stunning Delaware Bay, Middle Township has a large shopping district, golf courses and multiple bars and restaurants to enjoy.
While enjoying all Middle Township has to offer, it can be easy for even the most responsible person to indulge in too much to drink. This can result in a serious consequence: a DWI charge.
If you or a loved one are arrested with a DWI offense in Middle Township, you need legal representation as soon as possible. At the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty, we can examine your DWI case and provide you with the guidance you need to minimize your charges or defeat your case. For decades, we’ve successfully defended individuals facing DWI charges.
Mr. Tumelty is a New Jersey Supreme Court-certified criminal trial attorney and has practiced criminal law in the Middle Township and South New Jersey area for over 35 years. With his in-depth experience and extensive DWI defense knowledge, he can craft a strong defense strategy for your or your loved ones.
What Are the Penalties for a DWI in Middle Township?
If you’re arrested in Middle Township for driving while intoxicated (DWI), the penalties you’ll face are based on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and whether you have any prior DWI convictions.
Fines can range between $over 350 and $1000, and jail time can last between 35 and 180 days or more. Your driver’s license can also be suspended or revoked, with suspensions lasting months or even years.
New Jersey DWI laws are very strict. You can be charged with a DWI offense if you:
- Have a BAC of 0.08% or higher while driving a motor vehicle
- Are under the influence of a hallucinogenic, narcotic or habit-producing drug while driving
- Allow someone else under the influence to drive a vehicle you own, or are in control of custody of
Middle Township Police may have you submit to a Breathalyzer test if they suspect you of driving while intoxicated. If you refuse a Breathalyzer test from the police, you can still be charged with a DWI offense since the officer’s observations can be used as evidence in Middle Township Municipal Court.
Furthermore, refusing to submit to the test can result in additional charges and penalties. Why? Because a Breathalyzer test is mandated by New Jersey law.
How Can a Middle Township Lawyer Help Me With My DWI Case?
If you or someone you care about is arrested for a DWI charge in Middle Township, get in touch with a DWI defense lawyer immediately. Mr. Tumelty not only has extensive trial and criminal defense experience, he’s also a former State and Assistant Atlantic County Prosecutor. Using his knowledge about how prosecutors work DWI cases, he can develop a strong strategy to help you win your case and protect your rights. To schedule a free consultation about your DWI case, call 609-385-4010 or send us a message today.