Top Rated Multiple DUI Lawyer Atlantic County, NJ
New Jersey law enforcement officials are notoriously tough on drunk driving. Even one conviction will cause you to lose your driving privileges, face stiff fines and penalties and permanently mark your driving record. Repeat DUI/DWI convictions will require you to make some real long-term lifestyle changes; you may be facing jail time, driver’s license suspension and more.
As serious as New Jersey judges are when it comes to prosecuting defendants charged with driving while intoxicated, there are defenses a knowledgeable, experienced criminal defense lawyer can bring forth on your behalf. Contact John W. Tumelty immediately for a free consultation about your charge. When your freedom is at stake, place your trust in a DWI defense lawyer who will fight your charges aggressively in Atlantic City, Brigantine, Margate, Longport and throughout South Jersey.
Severe Penalties Apply to Repeat DWI Offenders in Brigantine, Longport and Ventnor, NJ
New Jersey classifies drunk driving charges as traffic offenses as opposed to criminal defenses. However, that doesn’t mean the penalties for conviction are any less severe. If you are stopped and suspected of DWI/DUI by a police officer on any roadway in South Jersey – be it the Atlantic City Expressway, the NJ Turnpike, the Garden State Parkway, etc. – you will likely be given a breath test (Breathalyzer) to test your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If you blow anything over .08 percent, you can be charged with driving while intoxicated. If your score was more than .10 percent or higher, the penalties increase substantially, even for a first time offense in Atlantic, Cape May and Ocean counties.
For a first time DUI with a BAC under .10 percent, you will lose your driver’s license for three month and be required to attend a 12 to 48 hour IDRC (alcohol program).. You’ll pay stiff fines, insurance surcharges, and the judge has the ability to have an Ignition Interlock device installed in your car.
If you get convicted with a first-time BAC of .10 percent or more in NJ, you’ll have your driving privileges suspended for between seven to 12 months and increased fines, surcharges and other penalties. If you are convicted of DWI in a school zone, you will face additional fines, more jail time and up to two additional years of license suspension.
For a second DUI offense, the stakes increase sharply. First of all, there is no difference in penalties regarding BAC. If you blow .08 or higher, within 10 years of your first DWI conviction, you will face:
- Jail Time: between two and 90 days in county lockup
- License Suspension: mandatory two years
- Fines: between $500 and $1,000
- Community Service: 35 days
- Intoxicated Driver Resource Center: 12 to 48 hours
- Insurance Surcharges: $3,000 over three years
There are also various surcharges that may apply: $75 Neighborhood Services Fund, $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, between $235 and $280 for IDRC fees and more. Further, you will have to pay the cost of having an Ignition Interlock Device installed.
Third Offense for Drunk Driving (DUI/DWI) in New Jersey:
If you get stopped and charged with driving while intoxicated in Ocean City, Sea Isle City, Avalon, Stone Harbor or anywhere else in New Jersey for the third time within 10 years, the penalties are even more severe. You are at risk for losing your driving privileges for 10 years. You’ll face six months in jail, three months of community service and thousands of dollars in fines and surcharges.
With a BAC of .08 percent or higher on a third DWI offense:
- You will face a minimum of $1,000 fine
- You will be forced to pay $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges (over three years)
- Cost of an Ignition Interlock Device
- And all the additional fees and surcharges that apply to a second DWI conviction
When your driver’s license, wallet and freedom are on the line, don’t take chances with your legal representation. Hire the most knowledgeable, experienced lawyer you can find.
Why You Need Mr. Tumelty Fighting Your Repeat DUI Charges
If you get convicted of a second or subsequent drunk driving charge in New Jersey, jail time is mandatory. However, a savvy criminal defense lawyer like John W. Tumelty can raise several defenses on your behalf. For example, he can attempt to prove that your prior convictions were faulty and therefore should not be counted as prior offenses.
Further, he will fully investigate the circumstances of your current charges. Did the police officer act appropriately? Were you read your rights? Was the Breathalyzer machine properly calibrated and was the officer who administered the breath test certified to do so? There are many questions to ask and answer and you can rest assured Mr. Tumelty will leave no stone unturned as he fights your charges.
Talk to a Skilled DUI Defense Lawyer in Atlantic City Today for Free
Mr. Tumelty is a former prosecutor who understands how the other side thinks and acts during DWI trials. He can put his first-hand knowledge to work for you as he crafts a sound legal defense strategy and fights tirelessly for your driving privileges and freedom.
Mr. Tumelty has three conveniently located offices in South Jersey: Atlantic City, Marmora and Somer’s Point. He will speak with you for free by phone or in person. He will come to you when necessary, as well. Contact Mr. Tumelty today to discuss your DWI charges.