John W. Tumelty Logo

DWI or DUI Charges Defense Attorney in Atlantic City

Former Prosecutor, now fighting for YOU in the local courts.

Watch our video

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 35 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

DWI/DUI Defense Attorney in Atlantic City

Atlantic City is known as the resort capital of the East Coast, attracting millions of visitors each year. With seaside casinos, a beautiful boardwalk and a vibrant nightlife scene, it’s a popular destination to blow off some steam with your friends.

Unfortunately, a night out in Atlantic City can easily quickly turn into a mistake you’ll deeply regret. A few drinks can turn into having one-too-many, and this can lead to driving while impaired and being charged with a DWI. 

At the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty, we understand good people sometimes make mistakes. As an experienced DWI defense lawyer, Mr. Tumelty has been representing people charged with DUIs or DWIs in Atlantic City for more than 35 years.

He’s both a New Jersey Supreme Court Certified Criminal Trial Attorney and New Jersey Supreme Court Municipal Court Law Attorney with extensive trial experience. A skilled litigator and negotiator, he’ll work to protect your rights and your future.

DWI/DUI Laws in Atlantic City, New Jersey

The Difference Between DWI and DUI

Sometimes the term driving while intoxicated (DWI) is used interchangeably with the term driving under the influence (DUI). Some states use these terms to describe different offenses.

In New Jersey, however, DWI is the official legal term for driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.

How Is DWI Defined in New Jersey?

According to New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, a person can be charged with a DWI when:

  • They operate a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicating liquor
  • They operate a vehicle under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug
  • They operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more
  • They allow someone who is under the influence to operate a vehicle that they own or have custody or control of

Under New Jersey law, you’re required to submit to a Breathalyzer test. If you refuse the test, you can still be charged with a DWI violation. A police officer’s observations of your behavior can be admissible evidence in court.

DWI Penalties in Atlantic City

The type of penalties you face for a DWI in Atlantic City will depend on your BAC level and whether it’s your first offense or a repeat offense. Penalties can include:


  • Fines ranging from $250-$1000
  • Jail time
  • Having your driver’s license suspended or revoked
  • Participation in a supervised visitation program as either a condition of probation or a form of community service

How an Atlantic City Defense Attorney Can Defend You Against DWI Charges

If you’re charged with a DWI in Atlantic City, your DWI case can be beaten with the help of a skilled attorney. Thanks to Mr. Tumelty’s years of experience as a prosecutor and criminal defense attorney, he understands how prosecutors approach DWI cases. This allows him to formulate strong strategies to beat your DWI charges.

Mr. Tumelty is available 24/7 to review your case. Call him at 609-385-4010 or send him a message today.

Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields