John W. Tumelty Logo

Former Prosecutor

Now fighting for YOU.

Watch our video

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 35 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

Atlantic City Underage Drunk Driving Lawyer Fights to Protect Your Child’s Future

If your child has been charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, it is important for you to understand the significant penalties that can accompany a conviction. That’s why you need to speak with an experienced DWI attorney who can protect your child’s legal rights and preserve their future.

John W. Tumelty is the founding partner of the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty. He is a former State and County prosecutor who is now committed to criminal and DWI defense. Mr. Tumelty has been named by the New Jersey Supreme Court as a certified criminal trial attorney, so he knows how to build a strong defense for your child’s underage DWI case. He has extensive experience handling all manner of DUI cases throughout South Jersey, including Atlantic and Cape May counties.

What Penalties Is Your Child Facing for an Underage DWI Violation in New Jersey?

In response to studies showing that young people who drink and drive are much more likely to cause serious accidents, NJ legislators have created special penalties for underage DWI offenders. The State of New Jersey has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. This means that if your child is caught with any alcohol in their system while driving, they can be charged with an underage DUI and risk losing their driver’s license for an extended period of time. Your child may also be required to attend and pay for alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), as well as perform between 15 and 30 days of community service and pay hefty fines, fees, and surcharges. If your child was pulled over with a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than .08 percent, the penalties are even more significant because the minor child can actually be charged as an adult offender. Additionally, your child may face a separate charge of underage drinking, which carries a $1,000 fine.

An experienced DWI defense lawyer can help your child avoid the most serious penalties for an underage DWI charge. John Tumelty has advanced defense strategies that he can and will use to challenge the evidence in your case. He will also hold the prosecution to the highest possible standards when presenting their case. If they fail to provide full and complete discovery evidence throughout the proceedings, Mr. Tumelty will file a motion to dismiss the charges.

Contact an Experienced New Jersey Underage DUI Attorney to Combat Drunk Driving Charges

Do not let an underage DWI conviction negatively impact your child’s future. Put a former prosecutor on your side today and give your child a chance of avoiding the most serious consequences of an underage DWI conviction. Let John W. Tumelty aggressively defend your child or college student against underage DWI charges. You can call Mr. Tumelty day or night to speak with an experienced DWI defense attorney who represents clients throughout South Jersey including Galloway, Longport and Glassboro. You can also email him to schedule a free consultation at his offices in Atlantic City, Marmora and Somers Point. Mr. Tumelty will review your case and come up with a game plan for an effective defense in your child’s DWI case.

Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields