Avalon DWI/DUI Defense Attorney
Avalon is a borough in Cape May County, New Jersey. Known as a seashore resort, it has a vibrant nightlife scene filled with popular bars and restaurants. Many young people these Avalon shore bars. Unfortunately, a few drinks can lead to driving while intoxicated and being arrested by Avalon Police.
A DWI/DUI charge can result in serious legal consequences and negatively affect your family, your job, your finances and your future. That’s why you shouldn’t hesitate to secure sound legal representation.
At the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty, we have a long history of successfully defending clients facing DWI charges and winning their cases. Criminal Defense lawyer, John Tumelty is a New Jersey Supreme Court Certified Criminal Trial Attorney and New Jersey Supreme Court Municipal Court Law Attorney.
For over 35 years, he’s used his negotiation and litigation skills to help people in Avalon and surrounding areas defeat their DWI charges.
DWI/DUI Laws and Penalties in Avalon, New Jersey
Understanding DWI Charges
The legal terms driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) are often used interchangeably, and some states have different definitions for each. In New Jersey, DWI is the official legal term to describe the charge of driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances.
According to New Jersey statute NSJA 39:4-50, a person can be charged with a DWI if they:
- Have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
- Operate a vehicle under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or a drug that’s narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing
- Allow someone under the influence to operate a vehicle they own, or have custody or control of
Under New Jersey law, a police officer can require you to submit to a Breathalyzer test if they suspect you of driving under the influence. Refusing to take the test can incur further charges and penalties, and doesn’t exempt you from a DWI violation.
Penalties for a DWI Offense
The penalties for a DWI in Avalon vary depending on the circumstances. Your BAC and whether it’s a primary or recurring offense will play a part in determining the consequences. You may face fines ranging from $over 350 to $1000 and jail time ranging from 35 to 180 days or more.
You’re also at risk of having your driver’s license suspended or revoked for months or years. The court may require you to participate in a supervised visitation program as part of your assigned probation or community service.
Next Steps After a DWI Arrest in Avalon
If you remember one thing after being arrested for a DWI, it should be to talk to a lawyer as soon as possible. Whether this is your first DWI violation or you have prior charges, Criminal defense attorney John W. Tumelty can help.
Mr. Tumelty is both a former State and Assistant Atlantic County Prosecutor with substantial trial experience. This unique experience gives him special insight into how prosecutors handle DWI cases and can create effective defense strategies to protect your rights.
Schedule a free consultation today about your DWI case by calling 609-385-4010 or sending a message.