Top 3 Ways To Help Beat DWI Charges
Aggressive DUI/DWI Attorney Protects the Rights of Clients Charged with Drunk Driving
If you were stopped and ticketed for DUI/DWI anywhere in New Jersey, you likely already know the charges you are facing are serious. If convicted of driving while intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol or drugs, your driver’s license and freedom may be at stake.
Criminal defense lawyer John W. Tumelty has successfully represented countless New Jersey drivers charged with DUI. With more than 30 years of experience fighting for the rights of clients charged with serious crimes and traffic violations, there is no lawyer who will fight harder for you when you are facing a DWI offense. With offices in Atlantic City, Marmora and Somers Point, Mr. Tumelty offers free consultations 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
What are the Consequences of DUI Conviction in New Jersey?
The State of New Jersey’s DUI laws are outlined in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50. The more you drink, the more your blood alcohol content (BAC) increases. In New Jersey, any driver found operating a moving vehicle with a BAC of .08 percent or higher can be ticketed for DWI. The BAC levels permitted for CDL drivers and new drivers are far lower.
Most importantly, depending on your size, it doesn’t take much alcohol to be legally under the influence. Anyone who gets behind of the wheel after drinking, even if they feel they are only buzzed, is putting their future at risk. This is because even first time offenders face jail time, suspended driver’s license and costly fines. There are several other penalties a judge can levy, as well.
If you refused to take the Breathalyzer test, you can be charged with violating state statute 39:4-50.2, also known as “implied consent.” (New Jersey law requires you to comply with an officer who requests you take the breath test during a DWI traffic stop.) The arresting officer can’t force you to take the breath test, but they can charge you with refusal if you don’t follow their request. Refusal is a serious traffic violation in New Jersey and, when combined with a DUI conviction, will surely lead to long term driver’s license suspension.