John W. Tumelty Logo

Available 24/7

609.385.4010

Former prosecutor

Now fighting for you.

New Jersey Criminal Defense and DUI attorney
who knows how to navigate the local courts.

Former State Prosecutor and Criminal Trial Attorney

Former State Prosecutor

Former Atlantic County Prosecutor

Certified Criminal Trial Attorney

Experienced for over 30 years

View Criminal Defense ResultsView DWI Defense Results Free Consultation

What are the penalties for a DWI offense in New Jersey?

The penalties for a DWI offense in NJ vary, depending on whether you have any prior DWI convictions within the last 10 years. Regardless of whether it’s a first offense or a subsequent offense, however, a conviction for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08 percent will likely result in suspension of your driver’s license due to mandatory penalties imposed by the NJ drunk driving statute.

The specific penalties for a DWI violation in New Jersey are as follows:

First Offense DWI:

  • Driver’s license suspension for three months.
  • Up to 30 days in jail.
  • Fine of $250 to $450.
  • MVC surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years.
  • Alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
  • Ignition interlock devices installed on your cars – at discretion of the court.

Second Offense DWI:

  • Driver’s license suspension for two years.
  • Mandatory jail time: up to 90 days.
  • Fine of $500 to $1,000.
  • MVC surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years.
  • Alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
  • Ignition interlock devices installed on your cars – mandatory.
  • Community service – 30 days.

Third Offense DWI:

  • Driver’s license suspension for 10 years.
  • Mandatory jail time: 180 days.
  • Fine of $1,000.
  • MVC surcharges of $1,500 per year for three years.
  • Alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
  • Ignition interlock devices installed on your cars – mandatory.
  • Community service – 90 days.

Additionally, a first-time DWI offender who registers a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .10 percent will face enhanced penalties that include mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device.

Charged with Drunk Driving in South Jersey? Call an Experienced Atlantic City DWI Defense Attorney Who Can Help You Avoid the Most Severe Penalties

If you were pulled over by police and arrested on suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), you are going to need the assistance of a qualified traffic & DWI defense attorney. John W. Tumelty, the founding partner of the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty, has more than 30 years of experience with drunk driving cases in Atlantic City, Egg Harbor, Lower Township, and throughout South Jersey. Contact Mr. Tumelty today to get answers to any questions you might have and to learn about your best options for fighting the charges.

Free Consultation

  • * Indicated a required field