NJ Laws and Penalties for Fake IDs
The “classic” fake ID is something you see underage teenagers in television shows using to get into bars in order to drink and/or purchase alcohol. What seems to be a harmless offense — glamorized in popular movies and television — can actually end up to be quite serious.
Seemingly, the teens on T.V. never really seem to get in trouble when caught with a fake ID. It may be confiscated or even given back to the person and they are just refused entry or whatever they tried to by. But fake IDs are not just limited to teenagers. Many people use fake IDs to make purchases or attain credit or to get access to certain things. Again, while the consequences are not always apparent for these actions, they do exist.
In fact, the consequences of using a fake ID are serious, especially in the state of New Jersey. Here it is unlawful to possess, display, create and/or sell a fake ID.
Experienced Atlantic City NJ Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains Charges For Juveniles Using Fake IDs
When it comes to juveniles and fake IDs, the penalty is considered a disorderly persons offense. If a juvenile possesses or displays a fake ID and is convicted of such, they will face a mandatory suspension of their driver’s license, a fine of up to $1,000, and up to six months in jail. If you are not old enough to drive at the time of your conviction, the suspension will start on the day you are eligible to begin driving.
Penalties for Fake Identification Charges for Adults in Atlantic, Cape May, and Ocean Counties
The penalties for an adult in possession of or using a fake ID are much worse than for a juvenile. Under New Jersey law, it is unlawful to “exhibit, display, or utter” a writing or a document that falsely portrays a driver’s license, birth certificate or other official documents that can misrepresent your age and other personal identification information. It is considered a third-degree crime and the penalties include up to five years in jail and a fine of up to $15,000.
In addition, it is not only unlawful to use a fake ID, but it is also unlawful just to be in possession of a fake ID. This is considered a fourth-degree crime in the state of New Jersey. Penalties include up to 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
Criminal Charges for Making and Selling Fake Identification Cards in New Jersey
As stated earlier, the laws and penalties do not stop there. Under New Jersey law it is a crime to make and sell a fake ID to someone you know is going to use it to misrepresent themselves.
This can be considered a second-degree crime if you are caught making 50 or more fake IDs or 10 or more fake IDs using the personal information of five or more different people. It would be a third-degree crime if you are found guilty of making 20 or more fake IDs or five or more fake IDs each containing different personal information.
If you are a juvenile and found guilty of this crime in the second degree you could face up to three years in juvenile detention. If found guilty of this crime in the third degree you could face up to two years in juvenile detention. More often than not, this ends up being considered a fourth-degree crime.
Contact the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty if You Have Been Charged with Using or Selling a Fake ID
Regardless of the charge, if you or a loved one is facing charges related to a fake ID in New Jersey then you should contact the Law Offices of John W. Tumelty. At our office, experienced criminal defense attorney, John W. Tumelty, can bring his experience to your case.
With experience handling even the most difficult cases surrounding fraudulent government documents, it is in your best interest to trust esteemed attorney John Tumelty to handle your charges. Contact our office today at 609-385-4010 today to set up a free consultation.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney/client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.