Multiple DWIs in New Jersey Can Change Your Life
New Jersey police officers take DWI/DUI very seriously. If you are suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs this coming holiday season, watch out. If convicted you are looking at serious penalties.
If this is your second or subsequent DWI charge, the consequences are even more severe. Hire a lawyer who will protect your rights and do what’s necessary to negotiate a downgrade of your charges. John W. Tumelty is a savvy criminal defense lawyer; he may be able to speak to the prosecutor and get your charges dismissed completely if we can prove your rights were violated.
For a second DWI conviction in New Jersey, you will face:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Between $500-$1,000 fine
- Suspended driver’s license for two years
- Detainment for 48 hours in an IDRC
- Three years of car insurance premium surcharges ($1,000 per year)
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to three years after your license is restored
If this is your third DWI charge, the penalties are severe:
- $1,000 fine
- 180 days in jail (at the judge’s discretion, up to half that time can be spent in an inpatient rehab program)
- Loss of driving privileges for 10 years
- Detainment in an inpatient alcoholism treatment program
- A fee paid to the IDRC, the amount set by the court
- $1,500 per year automobile insurance surcharge, for three years
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for a period of one to three years after your license is restored
Contact the Law Firm of John W. Tumelty in Atlantic City today for a free consultation about your drunk driving charges.