Available 24/7

609.385.4010

RECENT DWI & CRIMINAL DEFENSE RESULTS

STATE v. HENDRICKS — NEW JERSEY MURDER TRIAL — “NOT GUILTY” VERDICT

Mr. Tumelty represented Helena Hendricks, who was charged with first degree murder in Atlantic County Superior Court. The defendant faced a number of additional charges, including armed robbery, conspiracy and possession of a handgun for an unlawful purpose. At the conclusion of a jury trial that lasted three weeks, the defendant was found “not guilty” of all charges.

Categories

Felony Drug Possession Charges in New Jersey

Felony Drug Possession Charges in New Jersey

There are serious consequences for someone who is convicted of felony drug possession charges in New Jersey. The exact penalties for any controlled substance possession will vary based on the nature of the drug as well as the weight of the drug in the person’s possession. The drug possession laws in New Jersey are quite severe and a person who has been charged with simple possession of unauthorized prescription drugs could be hit with a third-degree indictable offense.

Substantial fines and penalties of prison for five years may apply. If a person is convicted of possession of drug paraphernalia, they could be looking at up to six months behind bars, suspension of their driver’s license for as long as two years, and fines of up to $1000. For charges of possession of any narcotics or a controlled dangerous substance, which include heroin, acid, ecstasy, methamphetamine, cocaine, GBH, hallucinogens, depressants, opioids or stimulants, prison for five years, fines as high as $25,000, mandatory rehabilitation and drug education programs and loss of driver’s license may apply.

For possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, a disorderly person’s offense may be applicable. This can lead to fines of up to $1000, drug rehabilitation, six months behind bars and loss of a driver’s license.

If a person is found guilty of possession of more than 50 grams of marijuana, this is a fourth-degree indictable criminal offense punished by fines of up to $15,000 and up to 18 months in prison. There are serious consequences that can apply to distribution, manufacture, or possession with the intent to distribute charges and if you believe that your case has been wrongfully elevated, or if the search and seizure rules were violated, you need to consult with an attorney immediately to put together a plan of comprehensive criminal defense strategy.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney/client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Free Consultation 24/7

Nights & Weekends

Free Consultation

Free Consultation

Atlantic County Office

Areas We Serve

Atlantic County Office

South Jersey criminal defense lawyer John W. Tumelty is conveniently located in Atlantic City, NJ. He serves clients in Atlantic, Ocean, Gloucester and Cape May counties and the Jersey Shore, including: Absecon, Atlantic City, Avalon, Brigantine, Buena, Cape May, Egg Harbor City, Egg Harbor Township, Estell Manor, Folsom, Galloway Township, Hamilton Township, Hammonton, Linwood, Longport, Margate, Mullica Township, Northfield, Pleasantville, Port Republic, Somers Point, Ventnor,  and Waymouth.