Different Degrees of Robbery
New Jersey law considers robbery as a violent criminal act and carried with it severe penalties to discourage repeat offenses. Often confused with burglary, robbery is the act of inflicting harm or using force on another person in order to commit theft. The main component of robbery that sets it apart from an ordinary theft charge is the intended violent factor. Depending on the exact factors in a robbery, the crime could be considered either a first or second-degree crime, each of which carries its own penalties. First-degree robbery has a harsher sentence while second degree, while still serious, can be significantly less.
First-degree robbery occurs when a person is armed while robbing another person or if the robber intends to cause their victim serious bodily harm. It also occurs when a robber actually does manage to inflict serious bodily harm on their victim. First-degree robbery also covers the act of threatening or intimidating their victim with a weapon, even if the weapon is not actually a weapon. Those who commit first-degree robbery can find themselves in prison for anywhere from 10 to 20 years with almost no chance of being released early. Moreover, this charge can carry fines anywhere from $150,000 to $200,000.
Second-degree robbery follows the same aspects of a first-degree robbery with the exception of using a weapon. The robbery could have been threatened physically without the use of a firearm or weapon and in this case, the penalty could be a minimum of five years in prison.
Both forms of robbery could make for a tarnished record, damaged financial situation and overall unpleasant situation for the person charged. If you or someone you know in New Jersey is currently facing potential robbery charges, contact a lawyer who could help. Schedule your case consultation today with John W. Tumelty by calling 609.385.4010.