Boating DUI In New Jersey
Have you already been accused of boating DUI in NJ? If so, you need to take action quickly to protect yourself and your interests. Being convicted could impact your ability to drive and your freedom.
It is against the law to operate a boat in New Jersey with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. It is also an offense to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol while operating any vessel. If someone is convicted of a boating DUI or boating while under the influence, this could lead to a mandatory loss of driving as well as boating privileges. Any person who has been accused of boating under the influence needs the help of a lawyer immediately.
A person could be convicted of BUI or boating under the influence for running a vessel while having a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher or being impaired by a habit-forming drug, a narcotic, a hallucinogenic or alcohol that may render that person a risk to themselves as well as to others. For a first offense for alcohol impairment of 0.08% BAC, this can lead to up to $400 in fines, a driver’s license suspension for three months and a suspension of boating privileges for a year.
For a first offense BUI for drug impairment of 0.1% BAC or higher, this could carry a boating privilege suspension as long as one year, a driver’s license suspension that may go as long as a year and up to $500 in fines.
Second and subsequent BUIs carry more fines, hours of community service and time in jail in addition to extended boating or driving privilege suspensions. The facts of every case are different and this is why it is important to consult directly with a lawyer who has experience representing those accused of boating DWI in the state of New Jersey.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney/client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.