It Just Got Even Harder to Bear Arms in New Jersey
New Jersey’s gun laws are some of the harshest in the country. To obtain and/or carry a handgun in NJ, you must complete a multi-step application process, and pay a fee. That fee could soon be significantly steeper, thanks to court fee hikes approved this month by the state judiciary.
The judiciary passed a proposal to raise 65 common court fees and create 17 new ones. According to a report from the Asbury Park Press, the fee increases would generate $49.4 million a year for NJ, meant to pay for digital upgrades to the court system and provide more access to legal services for low-income people.
Under the new fee, which could go into effect later this year if upheld by the state Supreme Court, a permit to carry a handgun would cost $50, an increase from $20. If your permit to buy a handgun is denied, you can appeal it – for a fee of an additional $50. It used to be free to file an appeal.
To get instructions on how to file an application for a permit to buy a handgun or an application to carry one, contact your local police department. Be sure to ask for detailed fee information, as changes may go into effect before you’ve completed the process.
If you need help navigating New Jersey’s complex gun laws, or are facing criminal charges in Atlantic City, contact the offices of John W. Tumelty today for a free consultation.