9 Consequences Of Weed Possession In New Jersey
The United States is getting more lenient with marijuana, but possession is still a crime in New Jersey. If you get caught with weed, you could face some major consequences.
Penalties For Simple Possession Of Marijuana (50 Grams Or Less)
Fewer than 50 grams of pot is considered a disorderly persons offense. A few penalties for being charged with possession include:
- 6 months in county jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Suspension of driver’s license for up to 2 years
- Extra penalties if you’re also caught with drug paraphernalia
Penalties For Possession For More Than 50 Grams Of Marijuana
This is considered a fourth-degree penalty. A few possible sentences could be:
- Up to 18 months in prison
- Fine of up to $25,000
Other Consequences Of A Marijuana Possession Conviction
- Loss of eligibility for federal student financial aid
- Loss of professional license
- A permanent criminal record that could make it harder to get a job in the future
These are only nine consequences you could face if convicted of marijuana possession. If you’ve been charged with possession, you’ll need to hire an attorney to help you.
John W. Tumelty has successfully represented countless clients facing marijuana possession charges throughout South Jersey. This includes Cape May County and Atlantic County. Mr. Tumelty is an experienced criminal defense attorney who will help determine what happened in your case. He will craft a defense strategy to help you avoid the most serious penalties. You can contact Mr. Tumelty at his offices in Marmora and Somers Point, where he is available 24/7 for an in-person consultation.
Call 609-385-4010 Or Fill Out The Contact Form To Request A Free Consultation With John Tumelty
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.