Auto accidents can be among the most horrific events a person can endure on a variety of levels. Injuries, accidental death, damaged property, dealing with insurance, and more can also be financially and emotionally devastating. While it can be taxing for all involved, an auto accident that results in the death of another person can be particularly difficult for the driver involved in the accident. Beyond reconciling with the death of another person, befalling blame and potential vehicular manslaughter can be particularly difficult.
Reckless driving that leads to the death of a person of people is defined by New Jersey law as vehicular manslaughter. It states that the driver was acting recklessly with a disregard for the safety and wellbeing of others. Common examples of situations that lead to vehicular manslaughter charges are:
· Drowsy driving
· Falling asleep while driving
· Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
· Reckless driving behavior (tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic)
· Ignoring traffic signs and signals
· Distracted driving
Any of the above scenarios can result in vehicular manslaughter charges. The penalties for vehicular manslaughter in the state of New Jersey can carry fines up to $150,000 and up to 10 years in prison. This does not include any additional charges that may be pressed by surviving family and loved ones. Regardless of the outcome, accidents happen every day. In most cases, a driver does not out of their way to kill another person. Certain circumstances, like dark driving conditions and other obstacles, can lend themselves to fatal accidents.
Emotions can run high in the event of a fatal auto accident. It is important to remember that you still have rights. If you or a loved one is facing charges for vehicular manslaughter or wrongful death, do not wait. Contact the law offices of John W. Tumelty today to schedule your case evaluation.